The Green Inferno (Eli Roth, 2015)

I can’t say that I am a huge fan of Eli Roth. I did like Hostel (2005) but I really despised Hostel: Part II (2007), so I wasn’t really sure what to expect going into this film. I decided I needed to see it just to see what all the buzz was about. Much like past Roth films it was criticized for being over the top in violence and gore. I went in with a pretty open mind. I gotta say I do enjoy a good splatterfest from time to time.

The Green Inferno definitely delivers on gore, like all things with Greg Nicotero’s name attached to it. The gore effects were downright beautiful, if you find that sort of thing beautiful. Nicotero once again shows us that he is the best in the business for gore effects. I gotta give credit where it is due and commend the special effects. That being said there isn’t much more for you other than that. The movie lacks almost everything else. The characters are one dimensional, and the story is in parts downright silly.(I’m talking diarrhea gags and one of the dumbest marijuana jokes I have ever seen.)  I had a really hard time trying to decide if this movie needed to take itself more seriously or less seriously. If it were either of those it could have been a lot better. A lot of folks will say “come on man, it’s an exploitation piece, what do you expect?” To those people I say “fuck you dude, movies are supposed to be first and foremost stories.” If I’m being honest I really didn’t find this movie scary or even suspenseful. By the end of this movie I was really just waiting for it to be over. I had no emotional attachment to any of the characters and didn’t really care what happened to any of them. This movie is highly influenced by Cannibal Holocaust (1980) which if you are an avid reader of the blog you will know I really fucking hate that movie. If Eli Roth set out to give us another film like that he totally succeeded. He made a really gross shitty movie with an even shittier ending, just like Cannibal Holocaust. So good job there Mr. Roth, mission accomplished.

If you are looking for a movie to watch with your friends and be completely disgusted by violence and gore, it might be worth the watch. It could be called a novelty at best. If you’re like me and like a little bit of substance in your films (yes, even in horror) this film probably isn’t worth your time or money.

4/10 

-DJ

Leave a Reply

